Webinar: The Impact of Artificial Intelligence on Social Movements

Free - please register here.

Thursday, May 30th, at 1:00 pm Mexico City/2:00 pm Chicago/3:00 pm New York

Paola picture

All technology, including the digital kind, is the product of a political ideology that is usually hidden.

During 2023, artificial intelligence was everywhere. We heard about it in a variety of spaces: artistic and creative, social research, medical, labor, and government. We heard about its potential, scope, biases, problems, aspirations, as well the “inevitability” of its presence.

How and where do social movements position themselves in the face of these issues? How close are the problems but also the impacts and opportunities? In this conversation we invite Paola Ricaurte who recovers the notion of the coloniality of power to propose a vision of AI development that articulates the macro and micro-political aspects of technological development as part of a decolonial and feminist project.

Paola Ricaurte is an Associate Professor in the Department of Media and Digital Culture at Tecnológico de Monterrey, Faculty Associate at the Berkman Klein Center for Internet & Society at Harvard University, and co-founder of the Tierra Común network. She leads the Latin American and Caribbean hub of the Feminist AI Research Network.

Free - please register here.